InTouch Media Group Proud Sponsors of Fremantle CBC Football Club

The history of amateur football in Western Australia goes well beyond the recollection of record goal scorers, dynastic teams and best and fairest medals, it is a window into the values we cherish as a nation. Shaped by Australian ideals of rugged determination, mateship and an adherence to a fair game, the sport has in turn helped inform and reinforce these cultural traits in our society. For 100 years, the Perth Football League (PFL) has been a stronghold of football tradition in WA. Generations have moved through its ranks, with many notable names and leaders nationally having kicked the ball in the amateur league throughout its storied history.

 Beginning in 1922, the league has grown from a small six-team competition to the single largest organised football league in WA. The league caters for males and females 16 years and older to provide a high-standard competition, while accommodating considerable numbers of volunteers and supporters.

For many players, the league provides a competitive competition for those not wishing to undertake the commitment required by the WAFL training, whether it be due to study and career commitments or simply a desire to pursue football as a recreational pursuit. The league is also the beginning point for many well-known WAFL and AFL stars, starting their careers in amateur football and becoming the football champions of tomorrow.

 The PFL has had many names throughout its history – Mercantile Football Association (MFA), Perth District Football Association, WA Amateur Football Association and WA Amateur Football League, before arriving as PFL.

In 2018, with the league by that stage called the WA Amateur Football League, 16 senior women’s teams joined a newly minted competition – today that number has grown to 52 teams. As it stands today in 2021 across all genders and abilities, the PFL has 71 clubs a

Fremantle CBC started in 1932 and became a powerhouse club under the reforms of Tommy Naylor. This year, Fremantle CBC President Brad Grant will celebrate his 20th year as Club President and said the club really grew once it merged with Kardinya Junior Football Club. “From there, we became one of the biggest amateur football clubs in Western Australia, fielding nine sides a week,” he said. Fremantle CBC have only won two A-Grade premierships in its long history, with the last one coming in 2000. However, Mr Grant said now was the club’s most stable period in A-Grade. “Since about 2012, we’ve been an A-Grade club and generally in the top three,” he said.

The last decade has seen the club constantly being a leader in A Grade, with finals appearances for the last 9 years, and, unfortunately 2 grand final losses.

After finishing 2021 in fifth position A grade side coached by former North Melbourne player Liam Anthony, 2022 currently see the side sitting comfortably within the top 5 and building for a big push leading into the finals.

All community sporting clubs rely on the hard working volunteers, Fremantle CBC are no exception, with a strong line up of dedicated coaches, the club thanks our 2022 coaching group.

  • A Grade              Liam Anthony
  • A Reserves         Troy Polak
  • A Colts                Brad Karafil
  • C4                        Ray Demello
  • C4 Reserves       Arron Jewels, Peter Cooper, Aiden Vinci
  • BJ Colts               Jaiden Clarke
  • Integrated          Sam Babarro

In closing we like to thank all our sponsors for 2022.

  • MVP Real Estate
  • CNW Electrical Wholesale
  • ACE Roofing WA
  • Delavale Contracting
  • Chain Systems Australia
  • Planning Horizons Development Solutions
  • InTouch Media Group

The entire membership and committee thank our loyal sponsors.

Make sure you get down to a home game before season 2022 is over. Enjoy our bar facilities at our home ground Morris Buzacott Reserve, Preston Drive Kardinya and cheer the boys on.



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.